Understanding the Different Lean Six Sigma Belts

Business growth proportionally depends on the implementation of process improvement methodologies. The process improvement methodology, Lean Six Sigma, aims to maximise efficiency while decreasing the occurrence of defects in the operations. A hierarchical belt system of Lean Six Sigma indicates the proficiency of professionals participating in Lean Six Sigma projects. The Lean Six Sigma Belts go from yellow to green to black to master black.  Attending the Lean Six Sigma Course is recommended for working on Lean Six Sigma projects. It will make you proficient in Lean Six Sigma methodologies and help you handle projects efficiently.

Table Of Contents

  • Introduction to Lean Six Sigma
  • What are Lean Six Sigma Belts
  • How to Choose the Right Belt Level
  • Conclusion

Introduction to Lean Six Sigma 

Lean Six Sigma aims to enhance business operations by identifying and eliminating barriers that reduce the growth of your business. Combining Six Sigma with Lean methodologies reduces process variance and increases operational efficiency.

The use of Lean Six Sigma methodologies assures product quality and other benefits. Organisations seek professionals who have completed Lean Six Sigma training because of their leadership skills, and they can lead the project to success.

The enhanced problem-solving skills of professionals with Lean Six Sigma certification improve efficiency and positively impact organisational operations.  This technology is widely used in companies like Amazon, Staples, Nike, and others.

What are Lean Six Sigma Belts 

Professionals who work in process improvement can show their dedication toward work and skills with the Lean Six Sigma belts that they possess. The company’s continuous improvement is assured by professionals who possess Lean Six Sigma belts, so these positions are crucial in every organisation.

To obtain Lean Six Sigma belts and become certified, you must follow a hierarchical process where acquiring each belt makes you master Lean Six Sigma methodologies.

White Belt

The initial certification in the Lean Six Sigma methodology is the Lean Six Sigma White Belt. Learners are introduced to the basics of Lean Six Sigma methodologies and will get familiar with the fundamental concepts and methods of quality management and process improvement.

Earning a White Belt credential adds value to the professional in the team, and he becomes an asset to any team by working on process improvement of the project. Gaining this credential opens doors to abundant employment opportunities, as it improves efficiency, creates happier customers, and provides an excellent growth attitude and problem-solving skills.

Yellow Belt

Those interested in learning the fundamentals of Six Sigma are opening the doors to the basics of Lean Six Sigma with the Six Sigma Yellow Belt certification. This course is excellent for entry-level professionals interested in learning the concepts of DMAIC and Six Sigma.

Individuals with Yellow Belt credentials are preparing the organisation to start with Green Belt projects as they work and demonstrate Six Sigma principles in their work and processes.

Yellow Belt Professionals use the PDCA methodology to manage small projects in the organisation. If you are interested in quality management and implementing Six Sigma methodologies in your organisation, the Yellow Belt certification is an excellent choice as it allows you to work using Six Sigma principles and fundamentals.

Green Belt

Professionals with three years of manager-level experience are eligible to obtain Lean Six Sigma Green Belts. The increased proficiency of Lean Six Sigma Green Belt professionals in using analytical tools and statistical methodologies makes them in inevitable roles in the organisation.

Green Belts employ Lean Six Sigma techniques to analyse problems and develop solutions, allowing them to work efficiently within projects with specific requirements. Lean Six Sigma Green Belt Certified professionals are experts in project management approaches so that they can utilise analytical tools efficiently. They assess data and make decisions by focusing on the project’s improvements.

Black Belts

Black Belts are highly skilled experts in the Lean Six Sigma approach and can supervise interdisciplinary teams and projects. They guide other team members in preparing to become Green and Yellow Belts. In addition to training aspiring Lean Six Sigma practitioners, they perform statistical analysis, meet with stakeholders, and organise meetings to provide important decisions in operational efficiency.

As senior leaders in the company, they are responsible for their duties and have the dual goals of increasing efficiency and driving high performance within the project.  Professionals can develop their leadership skills and learn to use advanced analytical tools to create improvement initiatives within the team and the organisation.

Master Black Belt

A Master Black Belt has mastered the Lean Six Sigma methodology and contributes to an expert level of operational efficiency. They must initiate organisation-wide projects and work with upper management to execute Lean Six Sigma-driven transformation. They are not involved directly in leading projects, but they train and mentor project managers with Black Belts and Green Belts.

If you have a black belt, you can advance to the Master Black Belt level by gaining relevant work experience and demonstrating proficiency in Lean Six Sigma concepts and methods. They are working end-to-end to complete verified projects. Large-scale projects are handled and implemented by Master Black Belt professionals.

How to Choose the Right Belt Level

Project Complexity

  • Y Yellow Belts: Suitable for less complex, smaller initiatives within a department.
  • Green Belts: The Green Belt is the ideal choice for medium-sized projects of modest complexity.
  • Black Belts: Large-scale projects with a significant impact are best handled by black belts.

Organisational Goals

  • Yellow Belts: Perfect for those who want to specialise in one specific department of the organisation individually.
  • Green Belts: Suitable when the organisational objectives are determined.
  • Black Belts: Essential for projects that fit in with strategic organisational goals.

Leadership and Mentorship

  • Yellow belt: Chosen by professionals who are not there in a mentor or leadership role.
  • Green Belt: If you can take on mentorship roles, you can obtain a green belt.
  • Black Belts: A mentor or leader who works within the Lean Six Sigma framework can attain black belts.

Strategic Impact

  • Yellow Belts: Majorly when there is immediate improvement in processes.
  • Green Belt: Contribute to the attainment of specific organisational objectives
  • Black Belts: Sudden shifts that significantly affect the company’s overall strategy.


Implementing Lean Six Sigma methodologies in your organisation promises improved business operations. When a professional works on Lean Six Sigma projects, pursuing a Lean Six Sigma Course and obtaining Lean Six Sigma Belts are highly recommended. Different factors, such as project complexity, help you choose the right belt level.

Leave a Comment

" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">
Anurag Dwivedi Car Collection Meenakshi Dixit: The story of a shining career “Karva Chauth 2023: जानिए करवा चौथ का महत्व और तैयारियों के बारे में. Rishabh Pant Comeback | जानें कब आ सकते हैं रिशभ पंत टीम इंडिया में राजस्थान के स्वागत में: रैपरिया बालम की संगीत यात्रा | Rapperiya Baalam Success Story